Majlis vice-presidents reelected

IRNA – Masoud Pezeshkian and Ali Motahari were elected Wednesday for the second consecutive year as the first and second Vice-presidents of Iranian parliament (Majlis).

Tabriz representative Masoud Pezeshkian with 179 votes and Tehran representative Ali Motahari with 163 votes out of the overall 253 cast votes in the Wednesday Majlis plenary session were reelected respectively as the first and second Vice-presidents of Iran’s 10th parliament.

The two vice-presidents had obtained 158 and 133 votes last year.

Beside Pezeshkian and Motahari, Hamidreza Hajibabai and Hadi Qavami were the other candidates for the post in the presiding board of the Parliament.

Earlier in the session, Ali Larijani winning 204 votes out of the total 268 votes was re-elected as the speaker of the parliament for the second consecutive year.

Iranian members of parliament also elected three representatives as the observers, and sixe others as the secretaries of the presidng board for the second year of the 10th parliament.