Iran Majlis elects members of ad hoc committee on JCPOA

The Iranian Parliament (Majlis) has appointed 15 lawmakers as members of an ad hoc committee tasked with reviewing the recent agreement reached between Tehran and the P5+1 group over the Islamic Republic’s nuclear program.

During an open session of Majlis on Wednesday, 15 out of the 24 lawmakers who had volunteered to be members of the committee were elected through voting by the MPs.

Among the members of the committee are First Vice Speaker Mohammad-Hassan Aboutorabi-Fard, Hossein Naqavi-Hosseini and Ismail Kowsari, both members of the National Security and Foreign Policy Committee, as well as Alaeddin Boroujerdi, the chairman of the National Security and Foreign Policy Committee.

The decision to form the committee was made after Iranian Foreign Minister Mohammad Javad Zarif attended a session of the parliament one week after the conclusion of the agreement on July 21 to hand over a copy of the agreement and brief the lawmakers on it.

On July 14, Iran and the P5+1 countries – the United States, Britain, France, China and Russia plus Germany – finalized the text of an agreement, dubbed the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA), in the Austrian capital of Vienna.

The JCPOA turned into an international document after the UN Security Council on July 20 unanimously endorsed a resolution under which the International Atomic Energy Agency will continue to verify Iran’s compliance with its nuclear-related commitments under the agreement.

The election of the members of the ad hoc committee comes as there are conflicting reports as to which institution in the Islamic Republic is responsible for ratifying the agreement. Both the Iranian Parliament and the Supreme National Security Council are considered to be entitled to have the final word on the agreement.

By Press TV