Over 30 countries to attend NAM Palestine Committee emergency meeting in Tehran tomorrow: Dy FM

Tehran, August 3, IRNA – More than 30 countries are to attend an emergency meeting of Palestine Committee of the Non-Aligned Movement scheduled to be held in Tehran tomorrow, Deputy Foreign Minister Abbas Araqchi said Sunday.
The meeting will focus on the humanitarian disaster in Gaza, the latest developments and how to put an end to the human tragedy underway in the besieged Palestinian territory.

Speaking to IRNA, Araqchi said that the NAM Palestine Committee is comprised of 13 countries, namely, Palestine, Algeria, Egypt, Senegal, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Malaysia, Indonesia, Bangladesh, India, Colombia and Cuba.

In addition to the NAM Palestine Committee member states, some 20 other countries from Africa and Asia will participate in Tehran meeting, Araqchi said.

He said some of the countries will attend the meeting at foreign ministers level and the others may send deputy foreign ministers to the emergency meeting.

Araqchi said that Palestinian Foreign Minister Riyad al-Maliki and Egyptˈs deputy foreign minister are going to represent their countries in the NAM Palestine Committee meeting.

The Zionist regime launched largescale offensive on the Gaza Strip since July 8 targeting civilians, health centers and schools from the air, land and the sea killing over 1,700 Palestinians and displacing several hundred thousand.

11 reporters are also said to have died in the battered territory during the Israeli assaults ran into its fourth week.



The Iran Project is not responsible for the content of quoted articles.