Foreign dignitaries to attend Rohani’s swearing-in ceremony

Foreign heads of state and officials have been invited to the upcoming inauguration ceremony of Iranian president-elect, Hassan Rohani.

Iranian Foreign Ministry Spokesman Abbas Araqchi said on Tuesday that leaders and officials from across the world, except for the United States and Israel, have been invited to Rohani’s swearing-in ceremony scheduled for August 4, one day after his endorsement ceremony by Leader of the Islamic Revolution Ayatollah Seyyed Ali Khamenei.

Afghan President Hamid Karzai, Pakistani President Asif Ali Zardari, Lebanese President Michel Sleiman, Syrian Prime Minister Wael al-Halqi and Tajik President Emomali Rahmon will travel to Iran to participate in the ceremony.

Iraq will be represented by Vice President Khazir al-Khazai and Turkey by Minister of Development Cevdet Yilmaz.

Kuwait, Oman, the United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Azerbaijan and Latin American countries will also dispatch high-level delegations to the event.

This is the first time that heads of state and leaders from abroad have been invited to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Iran’s president. Previous presidential inaugurations were attended by ambassadors.

Rohani won presidential election on June 14, garnering 50.7 percent of the votes.

By Press TV


The Iran Project is not responsible for the content of quoted articles.