Iranian expatriates can vote in 120 countries for pres. election: Qashqavi

Iran Deputy Foreign Minister for Consular, Parliamentary and Iranian Expatriates Affairs Hassan Qashqavi says Iranian expatriates can cast their ballots for the June 14 presidential election in 120 countries.

Speaking at a meeting with the representatives of electoral executive and monitoring committees outside Iran in Tehran on Monday, he said nearly 300 polling stations have been set up abroad for Iranians to vote overseas.

Qashqavi, who is also in charge of the electoral monitoring committee outside Iran, called on host countries to fully cooperate with Iranian embassies and facilitate the election process.

The registration for the 11th presidential election of Iran ended on May 11, with 686 individuals having signed up for the race.

Among prominent political figures who have signed up for presidency are Expediency Council Chairman Ayatollah Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani, Secretary of Supreme National Security Council Saeed Jalili, Tehran Mayor Mohammad Baqer Qalibaf, former Foreign Minister Ali Akbar Velayati, former First Vice President Mohammad Reza Aref, and MP Gholam-Ali Haddad-Adel.

The president of Iran is elected for a four-year term in a national election.

The Guardian Council, a 12-member body consisting of six jurists and six theologians, is tasked with vetting hopefuls for their qualifications and confirming the election results.

By Press TV


The Iran Project is not responsible for the content of quoted articles.