Iran, Austria to sign several MoUs during Rouhani’s upcoming visit

MNA –The Austrian chancellor’s office has announced that several agreements will be signed with Iran during President Rouhani’s upcoming visit.

As the Iranian president is preparing himself to embark on a two-nation tour to Switzerland and Austria, the Austrian chancellor’s office has announced that several agreements between the two countries will be signed during Rouhani’s visit.

According to the Austrian Press Agency (APA), along with increasing US pressures against Iran and its relations with other countries, Vienna and Tehran will try to declare their opposition to Washington’s sanctions by signing several memorandums during Iran’s president’s visit.

The Austrian Chancellor’s office announced that during the visit, several documents of cooperation and memorandums of understanding will be signed between the two countries.

In addition to meeting with his Austrian counterpart, Rouhani, who will be accompanied by a high-level economic delegation, is scheduled to hold talks with Canceller Sebastian Kurtz.

Two Iranian ministers of Industry Mohammad Shariatmadari and Roads and Urban Development Abbas Akhoundi will accompany President Rouhani on the trip.

According to the Austrian media, the Iranian president during his first visit to Europe after the US withdrawal from the nuclear deal with Iran, is also scheduled to address the Austrian Economic Chamber on bilateral cooperation, especially in the economic field.

The Austrian Der Standard newspaper has said that the Austrian president will stress Vienna’s position on the need to preserve the JCPOA in the meeting with his Iranian counterpart once again and will point out that Europe will abide by the deal as long as Iran does.

The Iranian president will leave Tehran for Berne tomorrow Monday July 1 as the first stop of his two-nation tour and will stay for two days to meet high-ranking officials there, followed by his visit to Austria.

It is worth mentioning that Austria will take over EU presidency as of today for a period of six months.