Iran signs trilateral wheat trade deal

Tasnim – Iran, Russia and Kazakhstan on Sunday concluded a tripartite agreement on trading wheat.

Deputy agriculture ministers of Iran, Russia and Kazakhstan signed the trilateral memorandum of understanding at a ceremony in Moscow.

The ceremony was attended by Iran’s ambassador to Russia, Mahdi Sanaei, as well as a top official from the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU).

Last month, the secretary general of the Iran Federation of Food Industry Associations said Tehran had launched talks with Russia over a wheat import deal that would allow it to increase flour exports to neighboring Iraq.

The deal was reported to entail the import of 100,000 tons of Russian wheat per month for private millers in Iran who would then produce flour for export.

Iranian private millers are not allowed to use domestic wheat for flour exports.

The Eurasian Economic Commission, an organization for a free customs zone which Russia shares with its neighbors, was leading the negotiations.