Iranian President Rouhani appoints caretakers for 3 ministries

President Hassan Rouhani has appointed three caretakers for the Iranian Ministries of Sports and Youth Affairs, Education, as well as Culture and Islamic Guidance.

On Wednesday, Rouhani issued separate decrees, announcing the appointment of Mohammad Bat’haei, Abbas Salehi and Nasrollah Sajjadi as the caretaker ministers of education, culture and sports, respectively.

(From L) Abbas Salehi, Mohammad Bat’haei and Nasrollah Sajjadi

The appointments came following the resignation of Ali Jannati, Mahmoud Goudarzi, and Ali Asghar Fani as the ministers of culture, sports and education.

Under Article 135 of the Iranian Constitution, the president must appoint caretakers for the ministries whose heads have resigned or been dismissed, and the caretaker ministers can serve in their posts for a maximum period of three months.

(From L) Ali Jannati, Mahmoud Goudarzi, and Ali Asghar Fani

Jannati was chosen the minister of culture in August 2013 after he won the parliament’s confidence vote.

Goudarzi won the Iranian parliament’s vote of confidence in November 2013 as Rouhani’s fourth nominee for the Ministry of Sports and Youth Affairs.

Fani managed to win the vote of confidence by the parliament and take the office as the minister of education in October 2013 after Mohammad Ali Najafi was rejected for the post.

Fani was reinstated in his post in June 2015 after securing a vote of confidence from lawmakers in an impeachment session.

By Press TV