Iran’s Kafashian nominated for FIFA Council Seat

Tehran, June 11, IRNA – The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) has announced the eight candidates to be elected for the three available Asia places on the new FIFA Council. Ali Kafashian from Iran is among the list.

At least one of the three remaining seats will be filled by a woman.

The eight nominees will compete at the AFC Extraordinary Congress on September 27 in Goa, India.

The nominated candidates are:
1. Zhang Jian (China PR)
2. Ali Kafashian Naeni (Islamic Republic of Iran)
3. Mong Gyu Chung (Korea Republic)
4. Saoud A.Aziz Al-Mohannadi (Qatar)
5. Zainudin Nordin (Singapore)
6. Moya Dodd (Australia)
7.Mahfuza Ahkter (Bangladesh)
8.Han Un Gyong (DPR Korea)
Ali Kafashian, 61, was the president of the Iranian Football Federation from March 1, 2008 to May 7, 2016.