Iran’s Ali Kafashian elected as one of five AFC vice presidents

TEHRAN (Tasnim) – Head of Iran Football Federation Ali Kafashian has been elected as the Vice President of the Asian Football Confederation from the Central Region on Thursday.

The 26th Ordinary AFC Congress was  held on April 30, 2015 in Manama, Bahrain and had re-elected Shaikh Salman bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa for a four-year term until 2019 for the post of the AFC President.

Sheik Salman has led the AFC since 2013, when he was elected to take over for Mohamed bin Hammam of Qatar. FIFA expelled Bin Hammam for alleged mismanagement of AFC finances.

The 47-member Asian body also elected Olympic powerbroker Sheikh Ahmad Fahad Al Ahmad Al Sabah of Kuwait to a seat on the FIFA executive committee.

According to, elections for three seats on the FIFA Executive Committee and for the 21 remaining places on the AFC Executive Committee also took place, and the following members were (re-)elected:

FIFA Executive Committee member (1 position; 2013-2017):

HE Sheikh Ahmad Fahad Al Ahmad Al Sabah (Kuwait; Zone: West)

FIFA Executive Committee members (2 positions; 2015-2019):

Kohzo Tashima (Japan; Zone: East)

HRH Prince Abdullah Al-Haj Ibni Sultan Hj Ahmad Shah (Malaysia; Zone: ASEAN)

AFC Vice Presidents (5 positions; one from each zone):

Winston Lee Boon Aun (Singapore; Zone: ASEAN)

Zhang Jilong (China; Zone: East)

Ali Kafashian Naeini (Iran; Zone: Central)

Saoud A. Aziz M A Al Mohannadi (Qatar; Zone: West)

Praful Manoharbhai Patel (India; Zone: South)

AFC Female Executive Committee Members (5 positions; one from each zone)

Moya Dodd (Australia; Zone: ASEAN)

Han Un Gyong (DPR Korea; Zone: East)

Zohra Mehri (Afghanistan; Zone: Central)

Susan R. A. Shalabi (Palestine; Zone: West)

Mahfuza Akhter (Bangladesh; Zone: South)

AFC Executive Committee members (11 positions):

Mariano V. Araneta Jr. (Philippines; Zone: ASEAN)

Viphet Sihachakr (Laos: Zone: ASEAN)

Francisco Kalbuadi Lay (Timor Leste; Zone: ASEAN)

Richard King Lai (Guam; Zone: East)

Mong Gyu Chung (Korea Republic; Zone: East)

Sardor Rakhmatullaev (Uzbekistan; Zone: Central)

HE Mohamed Khalfan Matar Saeed Al Romaithi (UAE; Zone: West)

Ahmed Eid S. Al Harbi (Saudi Arabia; Zone: West)

Hachem Sayed Ali Haidar (Lebanon; Zone: West)

Makhdoom Syed Faisal Saleh Hayat (Pakistan; Zone: South)

Mohamed Shaweed (Maldives; Zone: South)

By Tasnim News Agency