Majlis rejects third nominee for science minister

Tehran, Oct 29, IRNA – Majlis (parliament) in a public session on Wednesday turned down President Hassan Rouhani’s third nominee to head Ministry of Science, Research and Technology.
The session was held in the presence of President Hassan Rouhani during which he urged the lawmakers to support his nominee. It was attended by 246 lawmakers and chaired by Majlis Speaker Ali Larijani.

Mahmoud Nili Ahmadabadi failed to obtain a vote of confidence when 160 lawmakers voted against his appointment as science minister, 79 voted in favor, and seven abstained.

Nili Ahmadabadi needed half plus one of the votes to become science minister.

On October 22, President Rouhani introduced Nili Ahmadabadi to Majlis as his proposed minister of Science, Research and Technology after dismissal of Reza Faraji-Dana by parliament on August.



The Iran Project is not responsible for the content of quoted articles.