Parvin E’tesami Film Festival announces jury members

Iran’s eighth National and fourth International Parvin E’tesami Film Festival has released the members of jury panel.

Niki Karimi (actress), Kamal Tabrizi (director) Mohammad Mehdi Asgarpour(director), Reza Mirkarimi (director) Bahram Tavakkoli(director) have been named to serve as the jurors at the national section of the festival.

Some 188 films were selected from among 1175 entries in various categories of documentary, animation and experimental for the competition at the national section of the festival.

The entries will compete in short film and feature film sections, the executive director of the festival, Farnaz Qeisaripour had earlier announced.

Organized by the Iranian Supporting House for Artist Women, the event presents competing films in Iranian Cinema and International Competition sections.

The Iranian Cinema section is comprised of subcategories such as Golden Lotus, Silver Lotus, New Vision and The Parvin E’tesami section.

Competition section, Role of Woman in Family, Golden Lotus for Women Filmmakers (free issue), Golden Lotus for Men Directors (focused on women’s issues) are also in the categories.

The Golden Lotus will host 41 films made by women directors and 37 screen works by men filmmakers. Some seven films entered the lineup of ‘Role of Woman in Family’ section.

The organizers of this year’s event plan to select a woman filmmaker as the best Iranian female director of the past two years.

The annual event has hosted more than 800 female filmmakers along with cultural activists so far and presented 1100 films.

Named after Iran’s prominent 20th century poetess, Parvin E’tesami festival is held in both National and International categories.

Parvin E’tesami published her first poetry collection of 156 poems in 1935. She composed her first poem in the classical style when she was only eight years old.

Her poems focus on themes of social awareness and the human aspect of life.

The 2014 Parvin E’tesami Film Festival is scheduled to take place from October 20 through 24 in the capital city of Tehran.

By Press TV


The Iran Project is not responsible for the content of quoted articles.