The Iran Project

Slobodan Kovac names Iran squad for Volleyball World Championship: No Nadi, no Zarrini

TEHRAN (FNA)- Iran coach Slobodan Kovac named his 14-man squad for the World Championship, while two of the country’s icons Alireza Nadi and Hamzeh Zarrini are absent in his list.

Mir Saeed Ma’roof, Mehdi Mahdavi, Seyed Mohammad Moussavi, Adel Gholami, Armin Tashakori, Saman Faezi, Shahram Mahmoudi, Farhad Zarif, Amir Ghafour, Abdolreza Alizadeh, Farhad Ghaemi, Pourya Fayyazi, Milad Ebadi Pour and Mojtaba Mirza-Janpour have been called by Covac to joint the camp for the 2014 FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship to be held in Poland from 30 August to 21 September 2014.

The National Iranian volleyball team ranked fourth in the FIVB 2014 World League, gaining the best title among the Asian teams which have participated in the 25-year history of the league.

The national Iranian volleyball team with its former Argentinean Head Coach Julio Velasco attended the FIVB World League for the first time in 2013 and ranked 9th.

Brazil (9 times), Italy (8 times), Russia (3 times), Cuba (once), the Netherlands (once), Poland (once) and the US (twice) are the seven countries which have won the World League during its previous 24 editions. Serbia and France join as the only countries to have medaled in the past.

Kovac will have his last training session in Azadi Sport Complex tomorrow morning before Iran’s Volleyball squad leave Tehran for Belchatow on 25 August.

Iran will play their opening match against Italy on 31 August.

By Fars News Agency


The Iran Project is not responsible for the content of quoted articles.

Exit mobile version