Iran director Asghar Farhadi to lead 2014 APSA jury

The internationally renowned Iranian filmmaker Asghar Farhadi has been selected to lead the jury panel of the eighth Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSA).

Award winning director, Farhadi, will preside over the six-member international jury of the festival.

He is a three-time APSA winner across the seven-year history of the event including Best Screenplay and the Jury Grand Prize for About Elly in 2009, Best Film for A Separation in 2011.

Asghar Farhadi became a member of the APSA Academy in 2009 when his film About Elly won the Jury Grand Prize.

Born in 1972, Farhadi received his Bachelors in Theater from University of Tehran’s School of Dramatic Arts in 1998 and his Masters in Stage Direction from Tarbiat Modarres University a few years later.

His 2011 family drama A Separation became a sensation and received rave reviews from numerous international film events and festivals.

The film won the award for the Best Foreign Language film at the Golden Globe Award and Academy Award in 2012.

“Farhadi is a filmmaker who makes one becomes familiar with the rich culture of Iran. His works remind us of Victor Hugo,” The mayor of Paris, Bertrand Delanoe had earlier said during an award ceremony during which the Grand Medal of Vermeil from the City went to Farhadi for his latest drama The Past (Le Passé).

The Past has scooped numerous awards so far such as two prizes at the 66th Cannes film festival including the Best Actress award and the Prize of the Ecumenical Jury (prix du Jury œcuménique).

Dancing in the Dust (2003), The Beautiful (2004) and Fireworks Wednesday (2006) are his other directorial works.

The eighth Asia Pacific Screen Awards will be held in Brisbane, Australia on December 11, 2014 at Brisbane’s spectacular City Hall.

By Press TV


The Iran Project is not responsible for the content of quoted articles.