Afghanistan to hold 4th intl. Nowrouz celebrations

TEHRAN, Feb. 25 (MNA) – Afghanistan will hold the 4th international Nowrouz celebrations in Kabul with countries recognizing Nowrouz including Iran, Afghanistan, Tajikistan and Azerbaijan.

Nowrouz (Persian for ‘new day’) is the New Year’s 1st day in the Iranian Solar calendar at the beginning of spring. Nowrouz is also referred to as the Iranian or Persian New Year.

Also held in other countries, this year the ceremony’s host invited the three other countries’ officials to take part in the ceremony.

Nowrouz is the oldest ever festival commemorated in the world, recognized by the UN General Assembly. Since then, authorities of the countries which celebrate Nowrouz gather annually to celebrate Nowrouz coming.

The 1st international Nowrouz ceremony was held in 2011 in Tehran. In the occasion Iran, Afghanistan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Iraq’s presidents took part in addition to Azerbaijan’s foreign minister and Turkish deputy-prime minister.

The 2nd international Nowrouz ceremony was also held in Tehran in 2012. Presidents of Iran, Tajikistan, Iraq, Afghanistan, Armenia and Turkmenistan participated in the ceremony. Pakistan’s parliament speaker, Turkish and Azerbaijani deputy-PM and, foreign ministers of Lebanon and Oman, Indian minister of health, and some other international officials attended.

The 3rd international Nowrouz Celebration was held in Tajikistan in 2013. This spring the 4th international celebration of Nowrouz will be held in Kabul, Afghanistan.

By Mehr News Agency


The Iran Project is not responsible for the content of quoted articles.