Countries celebrating Nowruz sign documents to register with UNESCO

Tehran, Jan 28, IRNA – The countries celebrating Nowruz, the vernal equinox, have signed documents to register the international festivity with the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization.

IRNA reported that the countries included Afghanistan, Tajikistan and Kazakhstan as new members of Nowruz-celebrating states have signed documents late Monday by the representatives of countries to register the international festivity with UNESCO.

Currently, Iran, India, Pakistan, Turkey, Azerbaijan Republic and Kyrgyzstan are members of Nowruz-celebrating states.

The text will be submitted to UNESCO soon so that it will examine new membership of the three countries to the bloc.

Nowruz-celebrating states observe the first day of spring on March 20-21 as a festivity symbolizing rennaissance of nature. The day marks the start of new solar year. The countries consider the feast symbol of peace and friendship in the international community.



The Iran Project is not responsible for the content of quoted articles.